Try Something New – Farming

17 thoughts on “Try Something New – Farming”

  1. I loved this SO much, Lade. I smiled the whole time I was reading it. Hard work is a wonderful thing. It does feel good, doesn’t it? You’ve inspired me today with your words. Thank you so much for that little sister. Love you. Got you in my heart and prayers. ❀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Big sister. I am glad you smiled and I actually have a grin on my face as I am writing this. Yes hard work does feel good. I appreciate your kind words and prayers too πŸ’•

      Like

  2. It’s a wrap! that made me smile. Working on a farm is physical! If you are not used to using those shovel muscles you get worn down fast! I worked in an office and I know on weekends and evenings when I was renovation work I was exhausted physically. It made me glad for my mind exhausting job! haha. How did you get invited to work on a farm? My family had farms on the prairies in Canada but farms have changed now, they are much bigger. – David

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Hello how are you? I am sorry I just replied this. Had Technical issues with my WordPress but it’s all sorted now. Indeed I agree , farming is exhausting. Both times I went to farm, I slept like a log after I got homeπŸ˜‚.
      In many states in Nigeria, farming is one of the dominant occupation, if not for commercial purposes, to feed one’s family. Anyway, I am far away from home as I am currently “serving my country” .Nigerian graduates of universities and polytechnics are required to take part in a national youth service corps program for one year and each person is deployed to a place far away from home(although some would redeploy back home) I am from a state in the west and I was posted to a state in the east which is about 10hrs drive from home. To cut the long story short, I was invited by a member of my church who is an indigene of the state where I currently am. So that’s my farm invitation story. 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Super Fantastic! It is for two reasons:

    1) You enjoyed your way through something you didn’t think (at first) you would enjoy!
    2) You chose to share your fantastic adventure with us, your readers.

    I’m super duper proud of you for going for it. I believe that you will enjoy telling and sharing your adventure for years to come. You will also never ever forget it. It’s emblazoned on your psyche now. It taught you something that will be a very important guiding force in your life. You honed your listening skills, which probably helped to make the experience of others there with you more enjoyable. You explored, tended, benefited the natural world. WOW!!! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, I had a swell time at the farm. Time spent in nature and in the company of people who were patient to teach me and whom I learnt quite a lot as well as getting entertained.

      I only wish you could see the smile on my face when I read that you were proud of me πŸ€— . I really appreciate your kind words, thank you πŸ’•

      Liked by 1 person

  4. You my dear are a delight and teachable and wise because you are teachable. I really like the story of in olden times when a girl wants to marry her farm is inspected to see if she is a worthy women to marry. You know that is still true today. I remember telling our son about the girl he was going to marry that she was mature wise not mature enough for marriage. He did not listen. Six years into the marriage, two children later he left her. He show his lack of wisdom and maturity even more. So what did we as parents do? Prayed, a lot, loved on them both, and the grandchildren, prayed that God would turn his heart around. We understood why he left her, she was a child, had been treated like a princess and he need a queen. Praise the Lord after two years of being divorced they remarried, had another child, and now their marriage is perfect. Now you must know I am joking, no marriage is perfect, its always a work on in progress. It’s hard work, like farming. Great, fun post to read…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wow. This is really insightful, I am glad your son got back together with his wife. As a single lady, I have learnt from your wisdom, and I am really grateful for your kind words, means a lot to me. πŸ’•

      Like

Leave a comment